Greys & Greens

From winter to spring.
Pants for Eily:

 
Shirt for me:

  I started out by using this pattern but i modified it so much that i’m not even sure i should credit that source.  First i compared sizing to my Burda blouse because i was skeptical of both my ability to measure myself appropriately and Lekala’s ability to accurately depict these measurements (with all due respect, their patterns are only $3 and arrive personalized in your inbox within hours of purchase).  Rightly so, as it turns out.

Next, i eschewed the (decorative) half seams in the front, the full seams in the back (except for the horizontal one) as well as the pockets and belt, and made the necessary pattern changes.

Lastly, the length. I’ve wanted a shirt dress for awhile.  That was my plan when i bought the pattern.  But it was also my plan to use fabric from my stash. This embroidered linen – i don’t even remember my intention in buying it, pants, sleeveless dress, curtains, who knows? (Maybe nothing in particular as my love for linen began way back in high school from whence this fabric originates) – in any case, i had only enough for a shirt.  The fabric also has a bulkier drape than i would have liked for the pattern.  So midway through, i decided against one additional modification – the half placket – and sliced the front for a full button band as the original pattern intended.

Considering all this, i’m so pleased that it’s wearable in the end.  Not only that, i like it. (I had some serious doubts about the excessive embroidery.) 

I think the sleeve straps are my favourite. 

 

Leave a Reply

